CARPE DIEM (seize the day

Hard to believe it has been 3 years since Vicki passed away time seems to have gone by so quickly. Every day I’m reminded of her in some way, like the saying carpe diem. (Definition of carpe diem; the enjoyment of the pleasures of the moment without concern for the future.)

Recently my 5-year-old granddaughter Ellie Mae asked me why I went to Scotland in the snow and did your wife like the snow. For some reason she calls Vicki my wife instead of her nanny, I think it’s because her other nanny died last year, but she will often say that she has 2 nannies that live in clouds in the sky.

Occasionally I tell them a little about Vicki, like on boxing day 1982 we went to a fiends house I pulled our daughter on a sledge in the snow, and much later and after many drinks as we were leaving I picked Vicki up put onto the sledge and push her down the hill screaming (spontaneity) and yes she forgave me eventually.

This brings me to the title, I’m sure she would be happy for me as Vicki would often say seize the day, be impetuous like you used to be, so for me the time was right I had the opportunity to go to Scotland for 2-4 day’s sit-skiing, my new found hobby, it was a long drive in my new car to Aviemore but so worth it and I had a marvelous time, I’m already looking into next winters break perhaps somewhere further afield who knows.

I had another sit ski session with Paul on Wednesday, afterwards he asked if I’d fill in a short questionnaire and a video of what skiing with DSUK means to me. It’s the feeling of freedom wind in your face as you ski down a mountain and if you fall over you get back up and do it again, and feeling like everyone else, no one is different you are all there to have fun. I have more sessions planned over the next couple of months, I’m getting quite good even if I say so myself, there’s life in the old dog still.

A big thank you to Paul and the team at disabilitysnowsport.org.uk

Leave a Reply

