Expecting Times

December 21st 1978 Vicki was very pregnant our 2nd baby was due on 26th boxing day, and Vicki was concerned that she wouldn’t be here for our son Lee over Christmas.

The midwife had told things would be alright and not to worry, obviously she didn’t know Vicki very well.

This week was a busy time work wise for me today I was only local and then prep coach for early start tomorrow morning 4,30am start.

Tuesday 22nd a long day, little did I know just how long, taking a party shopping in London, phoned home couple of times check how Vicki was, reply just chilling with Jane friend and neighbor. Returned home 6.30pm, I was a bit annoyed Vicki was lying down said she didn’t feel well, Lee was playing

Then Vicki told me that lunch time she had a curry pasty followed by Castor oil in orange juice, and that she felt ok till she went to see her aunt at her mother’s and had a cup of tea, when home the pains had started, 7pm I phoned the maternity unit they said to take Vicki in.

Jane had Lee and I put Vicki into our mini, we arrived at maternity just before 8pm,i the midwife said that it would be a long night, so Vicki was prepared put into a ward nurse left. After about 10 minutes Vicki said call the nurse my waters have broken, the nurse said I don’t think so it’s too early, she looked and said she could see the baby’s head.

They rushed Vicki into the delivery room and I was asked if I wanted to be there for the birth, Vicki gave me one of her looks so I said yes, midwife said in that case you can hold her hand and support her neck, it was all over very quickly our daughter was born just before 9pm. I felt drained having been awake since 3am, but so proud to have shared the birth of our daughter with Vicki. Nurse asked if I would like a cup of tea yes please, I have never seen or had tea like it since, the nurse said it’s just what you need.

Vicki didn’t tell the midwife or nurse what she had taken that day, they were surprised by the quick birth, Vicki was allowed out on Christmas eve I was told not in the mini so her sister picked us up.

Our daughter Nikki was our Christmas gift.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY NIKKI   xxxx

 

Leave a Reply

